Reading List for 2013

I didn’t make any new year’s resolutions this year, but I did make a book list. What does that say about me? These selections are books I’ve had on my shelf but not read, recommendations from friends, and some year-end booklists I came across.  I don’t know how many of these I will actually read, but it’s fun to make a list.

For Spiritual/ Personal Development:

  • Gift from the Sea- Anne Morrow Lindburgh
  • Against the Tide: the Story of Watchman Nee- Angus Kinnear
  • Complete Money Management- Dave Ramsey (We’re in the middle of an FPU class)
  • Dug Down Deep- Joshua Harris
  • The Good Life for Less: Giving Your Family Great Meals, Good Times, and a Happy Home on a Budget- Amy Allen Clark
  • Cost of Discipleship- Dietrich Bonhoffer

For Homeschooling/Parenting:

  • The Lost Tools of Learning- Dorothy Sayers (this is really a long monograph rather than a book).
  • Last Child in the Woods- Richard Louv (this is a re-read, but I want to read it with friends)
  • How to Talk so Your Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk- Adele Faber and Elaine Mazlish
  • Project-Based Homeschooling: Mentoring Self-Directed Learners -Lori McWilliam Pickert
  • Cleaning House: A Mom’s Twelve Month Experiment to Rid Her Home of Youth Entitlement- Kay Wills Wyma
  • History of the Medieval World: From the Conversion of Constantine to the First Crusade- Susan Wise Bauer

For Non-Profits:

  • The Secret of Teams-Mark Miller
  • Set of workbooks by the Muttart Foundation around non-profit management

For Fun:

  • Code Name Verity- Elizabeth Wein
  • Mother Tongue- Bill Bryson (one of my absolute favorite authors)
  • The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table-Sam Kean
  • French Kids Eat Everything-Karen Le Billon
  • The Wingfeather Saga(4 books)- Andrew Peterson
  • A Place of My Own- Michael Pollan
  • Endangered- Eliot Schrefer

With the kids:

  • Charlie & the Chocolate Factory- Roland Dahl
  • Mr. Popper’s Penguins- Richard & Florence Atwater
  • Strawberry Girl -Lois Lenski

I can already tell you that Gift from the Sea and the biography of Watchman Nee are inspiring and I’ve got Code Name Verity on my nightstand waiting for the weekend when I have more time to loose myself in a book!  I’m hoping I’ll not only enjoy many of these, but gain useful tools in my own life.  Happy reading!

One thought on “Reading List for 2013

Leave a Reply

