Quick! Post while the kids are distracted!

I subscribe to a few mom & food centered blogs and there are two (One Hundred Dollars A Month and Life As Mom) where the author posts frequently.  Like every day.  I wonder HOW do they do it?  I mean, I barely have time to sleep some days.  Yup, we’ve hit the stage where the kids are in activities, but I’m the one trucking them around.   Don’t get me wrong, I am enjoying this.  My kids are fully interactive and make me laugh with their antics.  We’re also going through all the age-appropriate training that comes with school age kids.  You know, reminding your kids to respect their elders, be friendly & kind toward others, etc.

This year we kicked off our homeschooling year in full swing.  Both kids are now enrolled as one of Suzy Ally’s “GrandArt Kids” and loving their lessons with her.  Gwen has started piano and, thanks to a donated full size keyboard, she can practice regularly.  We’ve got Brukner homeschool nature club once a month and a group homeschool science class.  We’ve got scouts. We did an amazing program at the Cincinnati Museum Center as part of their homeschool Mondays.  The biggest adjustment was having the kids both in soccer.  I can see how it becomes an American rite of passage- we got to spend 3 days a week at the soccer field.  Gwen’s team, the green snakes, did really well winning most of their games and having a coach that worked with them.  Luke’s team, orange crush, didn’t win one game and hardly practiced.  But I’m ok with this- I think it was what both kids needed.  Gwen tends to be, well, lazy.  She’s pretty content to lay around and draw or look at books all day.  That’s great sometimes, but other times you do need to work.  Instilling in our kids that work is something that is part of all of our lives is important to us.  I was happy to see Gwen responding well to a coach that also made her learn all the positions and do a little extra.  For Luke, he is super-energetic and we wanted him to play soccer as an outlet for that energy.  We just wanted him to have fun and meet some new kids.  But he also tends not to take losing well-whether it be a family board game or a game of tag with friends.  This experience taught him that winning isn’t everything and you can still have a great time.

In the midst of all that, we bought a van.  Over the summer our/my volvo station wagon was hit by a deer.  In evaluating the situation we decided it was time to upgrade.  I have very mixed feelings about this.  I loved driving my volvo.  Part of it comes from my hippie Vermont childhood.  About half the state drove an old beat up volvo wagon because they are great on snow and just keep on ticking.  However, they are expensive to repair and ours was needing a lot of work anyway and the deer strike was the nail in the coffin.  On the other hand, my kids wanted extra leg room and the ability to carpool with friends.  So we found, after about 2 months of searching, a 2008 Honda Odyessy.  It’s probably the nicest car I’ve owned and I think, with it’s navigation system and other bells & whistles, it might be smarter than me.   The other plus is that now we have this super-roomy vehicle so my secret master plan of homeschool-by-travel just might work!

The kids have been so much work right now, but in the end I do love it and them.  We’re making such great family memories with all these activities.   I recently ran across a post in a British blog I like, Artspip, about Lovebombing.  What a concept!  But more than that, I love the word.  Lovebomb.  (Hey there-how ’bout I lay a lovebomb on ya?)  I miss my old career at times, but I am grateful for this time and know it will go all too fast.  Now excuse me while I make these pumpkin bars for a brunch this weekend….

Vegan Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Bars

Ingredients {slightly adapted from Frugal Vegan Mom}

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice mix
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 cup canned  pumpkin {I used pureed of course}
  • 1 1/2 cup {soy} semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Line a 13 x 9 in. baking pan* with parchment paper {for easy removal}

In a medium sized bowl sift together the flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda and salt.

In a mixing bowl combine the sugar, oil, vanilla and pumpkin. Once mixed gradually stir in flour mixture until smooth.  Fold in the chocolate chips and bake at 350 degrees for 28 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.  Cool 1 hour. Slice into 2 inch bites and store in an airtight container.

One thought on “Quick! Post while the kids are distracted!

  1. Yum. That sounds so good…I’m always looking for a new vegan recipe! I ♥ seeing the picture on Facebook of Gwen with her painting on the easel. I just added a picture there of Luke with our sweet dog (Lusy, someone else spelled it, she came with the name).

Leave a Reply

